Landscape 10, European Landscape Convention, Before & After

The European Federation for Landscape Architecture (EFLA) has issued its 2010 Yearbook Landscape 10, European Landscape Convention, Before and After.
2010 was indeed the 10th anniversary of the European Landscape Convention (ELC) and this book was the occasion to gather all the keynote speakers papers from the last EFLA General Assembly held in Bruxells in November 2010 (and much more).
With more than 100 pages, this book raises the issues of the European Landscape Convention (ELC), with the landscape policy contributions, the lecturers papers, as well as the result of the ELC survey done in 2010.
Landscape 10, European Landscape Convention, Before and After received a vivid interest from  landscape professionals from both the whole of Europe and worldwide at the International Federation of Landscape Architects (IFLA) Congress in Zürich, Switzerland in June 2011 .

Price: €10
Postage fees depending on country

If you’re interested, please contact:
Christine Bavassa at or
Laure Aubert at

European Prize for Urban Public Space 2012

Call for Entries!
Deadline: 19 January 2012

The European Prize for Urban Public Space welcomes the submission of major projects of creating and remodelling public spaces that have been completed in Europe between 2010 and 2011.
All information regarding the Prize and registration can be found at:

Sustainable Lifestyles 2050: Visions and Policy Actions

INVITATION: 10 November 2011 – Brussels, Belgium – 10am to 4.30 pm
The SPREAD Sustainable Lifestyles 2050, European Social Platform FP7 project, invites you to experience the future of sustainable lifestyles and the policies that will get us there.
Key themes:
* Vision 2050: What will a future where all Europeans are living more sustainably look like? Experts from policy, business, society and design will present their visions for more sustainable futures

* Promising practice 2011: What are current learnings and promising practice for sustainable living from across the EU-27? Entrepreneurs and practitioners addressing more sustainable living models, today and from across Europe, will present their promising practices

* Policy: What policies will enable more sustainable living options across Europe? Policy-makers, experts and practitioners will discuss promising policy practice already delivering more sustainable living and co-create policy action pathways to more sustainable lifestyles of the future 

Confirmed speakers presenting their visions 2050:

Confirmed speakers presenting promising practices and trends:

  • Lars Fogh Mortensen (Head of Sustainable Consumption and Production Group, European Environment Agency)
  • Juha Koponen (CEO &  Co-Founder Netcycler Oy)
  • Sue Riddlestone (Executive Director & Co-Founder of BioRegional)
  • Graham Russell (Head, Centre of Expertise on Influencing Behaviours, DEFRA)

 Registrations deadline 3 November 2011! Places for this free-of-charge-event are limited. If you like to join, kindly send the following required information to Name, Title, Organisation.


ASLA Annual Meeting


More than 6,000 landscape architecture professionals from across the U.S. and around the world will gather in San Diego, October 30 – November 2, to earn up to 21 professional development hours, to enjoy the fellowship of our profession, and to reconnect with the fundamental elements of design.

the ICOMOS Open Archive: EPrints on Cultural Heritage

 ICOMOS Open Archive: Eprints on Cultural Heritage, a global archive specialising in the conservation and restoration of monuments, sites and landscapes.

It is both the institutional archive of the scientific documentation produced by the International Council on Monuments and Sites (ICOMOS) and also a subject archive open to the entire international scientific community in the field of heritage conservation. Research institutes, organizations, universities and individual researchers involved in the conservation of cultural heritage and related fields, whether members of ICOMOS or not, are encouraged to make use of and contribute to this global Archive.

More at

New Brochure of the Ecole du Patrimoine Africain

The Ecole du Patrimoine Africain (EPA – School of African Heritage) has published its new information brochure. It was created jointly with ICCROM and presents the school’s mission, objectives, areas of activities, and functions.

The brochure accompanies the fundraising campaign voted by the Member States of ICCROM during the 26th General Assembly in November 2009. The resolution that was unanimously adopted asks ICCROM to increase the EPA fund to 3,000,000 Euros. The EPA Fund is the endowment fund created and managed by ICCROM since 2001. It produces interest to help EPA to cover 40% of its operating budget. The fundraising campaign is still ongoing, and ICCROM is fundraising for the 565,800 Euros needed to reach its goal of 3,000,000 Euros.

EPA was created in 1998 by ICCROM and the University of Abomey-Calavi following the conclusion of the PREMA (PREvention for Museum in Africa) programme. It is located in Porto Novo, Benin.