Zumtobel Group Award 2014: Call for Submissions


The international biannual “Zumtobel Group Award – Innovations for Sustainability and Humanity in the Built Environment”, curated and organised by Aedes Berlin will be launched for the fourth time. Please submit your projects from 1 September to 30 November 2013.

  • Public call for submissions from 1 September to 30 November 2013
  • New “Applied Innovations” category added to award
  • International jury to meet in early summer 2014
  • Total purse for the three categories: EUR 140,000

The next edition of the Zumtobel Group‘s architecture award is to take place in 2014 – the fourth time the lighting group is inviting submissions for the Zumtobel Group Award – Innovations for Sustainability and Humanity in the Built Environment. From 1 September to 30 November 2013, architecture practices, engineering bureaus, urban and landscape planners, universities and technology start-ups, NGOs and other public or private initiatives can submit their current projects. You can find information regarding the Zumtobel Group Award online at:

From 1 September onwards, the online submission form will be available via the following link: www.submission.zumtobel-group-award.com

The Award honours: 

  • outstanding architectural and engineering performances in sustainable solutions
  • pioneering social and humanitarian initiatives and research projects in the built environment

that make a notable contribution to a liveable, sustainable and equitable future. 

For 2014 the award, which was first presented in 2007 and has since become an established international architecture prize, has been enhanced and expanded, lending more weight to the topics of urban development and innovation. Entries for the Zumtobel Group Award – Innovations for Sustainability and Humanity in the Built Environment will be invited in three categories:

  • Buildings
  • Urban Developments & Initiatives
  • Applied Innovations  

Once again, the Zumtobel Group Award carries a total purse of EUR 140,000. The prizes in each of the three categories are presented by one of the international lighting group’s three brands.

In the Buildings category, sponsored by the Zumtobel brand, submissions can include outstanding building projects that have been completed within the last two years (30 November 2011 – 30 November 2013). These can relate to new buildings or designs that utilise existing structures. The winning project will meet the highest aesthetic standards and will also feature innovative solutions that permit the more efficient use of resources, enhanced environmental protection and the creation of better living conditions. The jury will pay particular attention to the use of state-of-the-art technology.

The Urban Developments & Initiatives category, sponsored by the Thorn brand, targets architects and architectural practices, urban and landscape planners, university groups and NGOs, as well as private and public initiatives. The focus here is on projects and initiatives in an urban context: city development/planning strategies, master plans, public space projects and ongoing research projects and social initiatives designed to enhance urban and social settings. Entries may concern projects concluded within the last two years as well as ongoing projects and initiatives. The winning project will make a pioneering contribution to greater sustainability and quality of life, as well as presenting innovative potential solutions to the core issues facing urban development. 

The Applied Innovations category, sponsored by the Tridonic brand, rewards innovations and technological solutions that make a trailblazing contribution to the realisation of a more sustainable built environment. The award in this category addresses technical universities, research institutions, individual engineers and firms of consulting engineers, as well as technology start-ups. Their innovations, for application in or around buildings and urban infrastructure should, for example, present new approaches to saving energy, using new materials or recycling, closed material and resource cycles, intelligent controls and software applications. Submissions may include innovations that have been proven in a prototype, a test series or an application in an actual project. 

As in previous years, the Zumtobel Group Award 2014 will be held under the curatorship of Kristin Feireiss and Hans-Jürgen Commerell of Aedes Architecture Forum in Berlin.

A first-line Jury will select 14 projects in each category from among the submissions. In early summer 2014, a jury of prominent international experts from a variety of disciplines will nominate five projects per category and select a winner from among these five. The presentation ceremony for the Zumtobel Group Award is scheduled for the autumn of 2014.

Jury members
Kunlé Adeyemi, Architect, Amsterdam (NL)
Yung Ho Chang, Architect, Atelier FCJZ, Beijing (CN)
Brian Cody, Chair, Institute of Buildings and Energy, Graz University of Technology (AT)
Elisabeth Diller, Architect, Diller Scofidio + Renfro, New York City (USA)
Bjarke Ingels, Architect, Bjarke Ingels Group (BIG), Copenhagen (DK)
Sejima Kazuyo, Architect / SANAA, Tokyo (JP)
Winy Maas, Architect / MVRDV, Rotterdam (NL)
Ulrich Schumacher, CEO Zumtobel Group, Dornbirn (AT)
Peter Sloterdijk, Philosopher, Dean of Karlsruhe University of Arts and Design, Karlsruhe (DE)
Rainer Walz, Head of Competence Center Sustainability and Infrastructure Systems, Fraunhofer ISI, Karlsruhe (DE)

For more information about the awards criteria and to enter the submission s form please click: 

Submission deadline: November 30, 2013